Back to School Blues… or Greens?

The best part of living in New England is being able to fully enjoy each season.  My favorite season has always been and always will be fall.  It’s the forgotten season, with summer and winter hugging it so closely, and spring being such a relief after a long winter.

Fall’s details are so unique and plentiful, especially because it only lives for a short time every year (as they would say in The Fault in Our Stars: some infinities are shorter than others). Of course there are the classics: The smell of the leaves piled on the neighborhood corner that I used to bury myself in (still not sure how I managed to avoid Lyme Disease).  The huge bins of fresh apples that I pick every year and can never finish… unless I make a few apple pies.  The pumpkins and mums on everyone’s front door.  But I always take a mental note of the lesser known fall traits: The ability to keep myself entertained if I’m walking alone by finding the good, crunchy leaves to step on.  The feeling of using a new pencil eraser for the first time in class.  How the air is crisp in the morning but warms up for afternoon walks to the bakery. And most of all, the feeling of being back as a part of something – whether it’s a sports team, a group in class, or a group of friends that I missed.  I love fall because after a hot summer of working and relaxing, it’s nice to get myself up and feel important, being surrounded with beautiful autumn scenery.

This outfit is sophisticated and girly, but still young and carefree. Perfect for a long day of classes, a club meeting, or a casual interview!  I love the contrast of a basic white top with a little distress and the schoolgirl look of the plaid skirt.  Chanel flats obviously go with everything, plus a big tote to carry notebooks is always a better confidence booster than a regular North Face backpack (which… is what I normally wear to class).  Can’t you picture Serena van der Woodsen wearing this running late to Constance?

Unfortunately in the fall, life kind of… starts again.  Early mornings, late meetings, lack of sleep.  Most people turn to coffee in times of caffeine need, but I prefer green tea or this green juice.  You’ll be craving this every morning, and it won’t dye your teeth yellow!

Ingredients (serves 1)

  • 1/4 of a whole pineapple
  • 6-8 kale leaves
  • 1/2 inch ginger root
  • 1/4 lemon

Put all ingredients through a juicer, mix with a spoon, and add a few pieces of ice.  It’s that easy!  I also love juicing because you don’t have to clean the juicer it right away (if you’re in a morning rush) and it doesn’t leave your kitchen a mess.  I’m lucky enough to have a juicer, but if you don’t have one, try placing all ingredients in a blender (only use 3-4 kale leaves) with some coconut water.  Let me know what you think of this morning zinger in the comments below!

One last note: I made an instagram 2 days ago.  Check it out and follow me for more updates! @melissa.brian

DSC_0661 DSC_0647 DSC_0664 DSC_0640 DSC_0663DSC_0632 DSC_0634

Top: Free People

Skirt: Free People

Tote: Tory Burch

Flats: Chanel

Bracelet: Local Boutique

Leave a Reply

